Have you found your passion?

1p Happy find

As my fingers slowly and hesitantly start hitting keys on my keyboard for this very first blog post of mine, I notice they are shaking.  It’s very subtle, the shaking.  If you were here beside me, you’d probably not notice.  But I know.

As I check with my entire body, and with myself, I must face the truth.  I’m shaking all over.  Inside and out.  Yes.  I’m nervous.  I don’t really know how to “blog” and honestly, I have been avoiding it for years.

Avoidance can be quite sneaky if you let it.  For it will mislead you into thinking that it’s not avoidance at all.  You will listen to crap like:
“nah.  It’s not for me”

“I never really understood why people do this anyway”

“blah, I’d rather do something I want to do.”
“I want to follow my passion – not this.”

Then, in one moment, the truth stares you in the face.


You are freaking scared of commiting to something you might not be good at.  Something you don’t have experience at.  Somehting that is out of your comfort zone.  It has nothing to do with doing what you are passionate about, but everything to do about what you run away from.

and if you run away from a simple little thing as (for me!) starting a blog, then I must ask myself: “What else do I run away from in my life?”  Oh shoot.  Once the question is asked, the answers flow …

“I’m afraid of being seen.”

“I’m afraid of being judged.”

“I’m afraid of my imperfection.”

“I’m afraid of not being liked by some.”

“I’m afraid of being called out on some of my beliefs.”

Ya. Ya.  I’m afraid.  So What?  Seriously, Janick?  So WHAT?  Courage is not acting without fear, it’s acting despite the presence of fear.

“but”, my ego says, “you need to be more confident”;  “you aren’t ready yet.”  “study more.  Research more.  read more.  google it more.”

Until it becomes crystal clear.  Confidence and readiness are irrelevant to getting into action.

Whatever it is in your life that your WISE, INNER voice is telling you, leading you towards, whispering to you “do that” – Go and do it.  Don’t overanalyse it.  Don’t rationalise why or why not.  Don’t wait to be ready for it.  Don’t wait until your confident enough.  DO IT.  Like that popular tag line from that popular brand “Just Do it!”  – well it’s pretty much it.  Just do it, honey.  NOW is the time.  This is the perfect moment, and this is how you will gain confidence.  by doing it.

Just like a baby’s first steps.  Do you think he tells himself “but I’m not ready.”  or “I need more confidence before I attempt this thing called walking.”  Nope.  He just gets up, and stumbles with his first step.  A great big smile for ear to ear appears on his face for a fraction of a second, and he falls, and often cries.  But oh!  The intensity of that smile!  So intense that it drives him to start again, and again, and again.  That is how we learn.  We attempt.  We fall.  We start again.  Until we are able to stand on our own two feet.

Have you found your passion? If so, whatever it is, write about that. If not, then you must first find your passion

Leave a Reply

